Whimsical self-deprication: Grab ya torch and pitchfork – theres a strawman to burn!

In the interest of transparency I should note I reside at the experimental grinder end of Biohacking. Many Biohackers just want to be as healthy as biologically possible. When Rich Lee address’ the divide in Transhumanism he identifies the ‘Maximisers’ and the ‘Beyonders’ as the two distinct families embracing Biohacks.

Maximising processes is an understandable desire, but as someone partial to technological determinism I find many ‘naturalistic’ biohacking techniques unbearably intuitive to the point where I find it embarrassing to be placed in the same category.

SEO can make biohacking look pretty whitebread.

Biohacking articles that posit techniques such as ‘Standing in the sun’ or ‘Breathing air from nature’ is a biohack. I lament myself for an ad hominem attack but I suspect may Biohacking Authors are simply jumping on the clickbait buzzword bandwagon.

I suspect my own disinclination to this may be rooted in technomania – as the ‘Hacker’ mindset is derivative of technological elements, I would justify this as inherit in the epistemology of biohacking.

        Subsequently I must state I am not remotely the arbiter of Biohacking, but…

I would still posit technologically dependant Biohacks – such as subdermal Implants, nootropics and TDCS (electro-stimulation) are more accurate examples of Biohacks than the aforementioned ‘naturalistic Biohacks’, on the objection that without technology, it is not an accurate usage of the word ‘Hack’.

Furthermore, I would state use of technology is a more succinct embodiment of ‘hacker ethics’ within a biological context and systems thinking. The use of the word ‘Hack’ has been hijacked from its etiological roots and being wielded by buzzword culture amongst SEO exploits. I would agree that definitions, at least within English, evolve proscriptively not descriptively – and this eventuate with with the word ‘hack’.
Contemporarily however, I would urge usage to be centralised around a more etiological and I daresay, intuitive, definition of hack – my defence not being my bias toward the culture itself, but that exploring the traditional context of hacking will provide a tremendous amount of insight into systems thinking and the effects of technology – which will simply be ignored if people associate biohacking with organic optimisation such as ‘Eating plenty of Greens’ or ‘Turn off your phone when you go to bed’.

Photo from DreamingtheFuture.co.za – Broken URL

